Sidetracked



Relentless

I went into the theatre hoping to be inspired by a life-affirming film, but I left feeling depressed and tortured. "The Passion of the Christ" was one of the worst movies I have ever seen.

I do not claim to be an expert on the Bible or Jesus Christ, but I did go to church enough to understand that Christ was trying to put out a positive message. A movie about Jesus Christ, someone who emphasized love, tolerance, and forgiveness, should leave the audience feeling uplifted and optimistic, shouldn't it? As I walked out of the theatre, I observed those who left with me. I did not see one smiling face, but rather many tear-stained faces. The somber souls that ambled towards the exits had the look of mourning.

To sum up the film, you would be hard-pressed to find a plot or character development. The majority of it focused on the relentless beating of one very sad man. The devil was spotted here and there throughout the movie, looking very much like a woman, which I found interesting. The anti-Semitic undertones were actually quite obvious. I saw more blood in this movie than in any horror movie, and I had my eyes closed through a lot of it. Then there was the explicit adaptation of the crucifixion if Christ.

"The Passion of the Christ" was dotted with flashbacks of Christ's life, but most of those were heart wrenching.

I understand that Christ suffered, but does the viewer have to suffer in order to feel enlightened?

For those insistent on seeing the movie, be prepared, and please do not bring your children. It is an exceedingly painful view.

Leave a Reply

