Sidetracked



Self

We went to the best Mexican food restaurant in Dallas on Sunday. Best Mexican food according to D magazine. I had the fish tacos, and they were pretty tasty, but then I thought, it really isn't hard to mess up fish tacos. All they need is fish, that cole slaw-y stuff, and tortillas of course. But never the less, they were good, maybe even the best in Dallas.

Although the food was yummy, I have a feeling I won't be back there as often as I should, for a stupid reason. That reason being, the server called me "sir". It was a mistake, I know. He only saw the back of me, and I'm on this whole no-makeup kick, and I had just come from the pool, so my already boyishly short hair was damp and unstylish. But the thing is, I am not a sir, and I don't want to be mistaken for a sir.

It probably stems from high school experiences. Back in high school I used to get hit on by lesbians a lot. I say a lot, because guys rarely hit on me, and my junior and senior years, I got a lot of attention from girls. In fact, the only guy that really showed a lot of interest in me turned out to be gay, but that's another story. So these girls, all with the best intentions, were following me around school, giving me little notes, telling my friends they thought I was cute, that sort of thing. I don't think there is anything wrong with homosexuality. One of my best friends is gay. I actually befriended one of the girls that had a crush on me. I have a problem with people mistaking me for someone I'm not.

I am not a man, and I am not a lesbian. Let me just make that clear.

I know I am blowing it all out of proportion, and I am rambling, but this is just something that I feel strongly about, as stupid as it is.

Leave a Reply

