Sidetracked



A Handful of Sunshine

Is it just me or was the 4th of July a little on the depressing side this year? It just didn't feel right. I had knots and butterflies and dinosaurs in the pit of my stomach all day.

Maybe it was because I had planned on spending the weekend in Houston with my best friend, but my dad decided he and my step-mom would come up to spend some quality time with me instead.

Maybe it was because I spent the week anticipating the arrival of my dad and step-mom, and they ended up spending the majority of the weekend with their friends.

Maybe it was because I somehow ended up at Willy Nelson's Picnic with the fam on the 4th of July. I really did try my hardest to enjoy the music and atmosphere and company, but the heat (my God, the heat!) and rednecks and port-o-cans (sans toilet paper) were just a little more than I could bear.

But I kept that smile on my face throughout the entire weekend.

When my brother complained of wasting his time and money on WNP, I did my best to cheer him up.

When my dad apologized (in a polite, but not the most sincere way) to me for not spending much quality time, I shrugged it off and gave him a hug.

And when I finally got home after an anti-climactic day, and I was really feeling blue, I smoked a cigarette or two and told myself everything would be okay.

Leave a Reply

