Sidetracked



Taking Up Space

I've come to learn that the gym is an excellent place to people watch. You have long periods of time on those darned elliptical trainers, treadmills, stair steppers, whatever, and sometimes those little TVs they stick in front of you just aren't enough to distract you from looking down at the display every two minutes to see how much longer you have or how many calories you've burned.

So last night I went to the gym and did the elliptical trainer thing for about 35 minutes. Nothing that enthralling was on TV, so I started looking around at the people working out on other machines. I saw one girl on the stair climber; she was on it for a pretty long time. She was one of those girls that just looks like she works out all the time. Very annoying. Anyway, I got to thinking about how if I was on the stair climber for such a long time, my legs would look huge! But her's looked perfect. So irritating.

Okay, bad example.

Moving on to the weights. I was working out on a machine right next to this long row of mats, where you can sit and stretch and do ab workouts and stuff. There was a girl sitting on the mats and stretching. I think this girl was some kind of contortionist. She would do the splits and then the next thing you know she rolls her legs all the way behind her. It was crazy!

I'm getting to the funny part.

There was a guy sitting next to her, taking a break from his sit-ups and was staring at her with the most perplexed look on his face. Then he shook his head and looked back at her. She was oblivious to all of this. Well she must have been stretching for about 10 to 15 minutes and he was staring at her the entire time with this look on his face.

I was trying so hard not to laugh. It really was very funny.

Maybe you'd have to be there.

But I wanted to thank that guy for making me laugh, and in turn making my day, and my workout, a little better.

Leave a Reply

