Sidetracked



What Would Robert Smith Do?

After trying unsuccessfully to write something about The Cure for the past 20 minutes that didn't sound too sappy or fanatical, I give up.

All I have to say is, when you're feeling low, embrace those miserable feelings and listen to The Cure for a little while. You'll still feel depressed, but at least you'll know you aren't alone.

I partied just a little too much this weekend. My body is begging for a bubble bath and a good solid 10 hours of sleep.

My stomach was almost flat on Friday, thanks to hours and hours spent at the gym last week. Now it is much more rounded, thanks to lots of beer, Mexican food, and snacks at the gas station.

My throat hurts from breathing carbon monoxide and other carcinogens for three days straight.

And my car was mysteriously crashed into sometime over the weekend, while parked in front of the boyfriend's neighbor's house. This is the second time in the past two months that my car was a victim in a hit and run. Does someone hate the Weezer and I Hate Reel Big Fish stickers on the back window so much that they would vandalize my car? Did the one person I have ever flipped off while driving find it so offensive that they decided to hunt down my car and crash into it twice? Or was it pure carelessness for another person's belongings?

The fact of the matter is, I am a nice person, or at least I try to be. This car has to last me at least a couple more years; it just has to get me through college. It's in bad enough shape already, without people crashing into it for no good reason. And if I want to see my boyfriend, I pretty much have to park on the street, and by doing this I am putting my trust in others to do the right thing in case of an accident.

If you crash into someone's car, go up to the house and find out whose car it is. Give the person your insurance information so they can get their car fixed without paying hundreds of dollars. And if you can't find the owner of the car, leave a note on the windshield explaining what happened, and preferably your insurance information and contact information. Just because it's the right thing to do!

Okay. Off my soapbox now.

But really people. Have a little decency.

Leave a Reply

