Sidetracked



That’s Gotta Hurt

I've never seen someone break an arm or a leg or anything like that before. Ever.

I was a lifeguard for the YMCA every summer for about five years. This is the first summer I haven't been a lifeguard since I was 16. As an employee of the YMCA, I supervised lots of little kids hopped up on sugar, summer, and swimming. This combination is bound to result in some painful accidents. I saw many a busted forehead or knee, bloody noses and scabby shins, even welts the size of cantaloupes, but never did I treat a broken bone.

I didn't even know what it looked like when someone's bone was broken. Until now.

I was sitting on my patio earlier, smoking a cigarette and thinking about how agonizingly hot it was outside. There was a maintenance guy downstairs getting ready to fix something, and one of the women from the leasing office was walking down the sidewalk toward him and the office. She realized she forgot her key to the office, put her purse down, and turned around to go back to her car. As she came back down the sidewalk she looked up at me and smiled. I started to say hello to her, but just as I did, she missed a step, twisted her ankle, and fell to the ground.

Now, I've done this sort of thing a bazillion times. Yes, I am sometimes very clumsy. And usually after I fall down I look around to see if anyone saw, or is pointing and laughing, get up and pretend like it never happened.

She looked around to see if anyone saw what happened, I shouted, "Are you okay?" and the maintenance guy ran towards her half-heartedly.

I heard her say, "Yup. I broke it.", and then proceeded to cry in the most dramatic fashion.

I asked her if I should call an ambulance. Her ankle was bent in a bizarre way. Everyone was ignoring me though, so I just went inside.

Anyway, I know this is a very long story to write about a broken bone incident, but it was the first one I had ever seen.

Leave a Reply

