Sidetracked



My Date With David

I spent the evening with David Sedaris. I've heard from a few people that he's really funny, and I think a sense of humor is very attractive.

I have a non-lesbian infatuation with his sister, and I figured since I think she's so cool, I should give him a shot.

Anyway, he was sitting on a table in the front of Barnes & Noble just waiting for me as I walked in the door. I saw this as a sign that I definitely needed to take him home. I fall pretty fast though, so I decided it would be best not to rush into anything.

DS kept me company as I drank coffee and flipped through the latest Jane magazine. Then I studied him for a little bit, trying to figure out if he was worth my time and money. I sort of went into the evening knowing that he was going to be too much of a commitment. But the longer I studied him, the more I wanted him.

I can be so indecisive in situations like this.

It got to a point where I just couldn't look him anymore. He was right there on the border of being too expensive. I kept thinking of all the things I need in my life, and right now DS isn't one of them, especially when I have Gregory Maguire waiting for me at home. The only thing GM has ever asked of me is more of my time, and as dull as he's been lately, I wouldn't feel right about bringing DS home.

So, DS and I walked around the store for a while. I didn't want to say goodbye.

Finally I left him sitting at a table, and walked out of the store feeling flustered.

Maybe I'll see him again someday, at Half Price Books.

Leave a Reply

