Sidetracked



What in God’s name is going on here?

I have a feeling that everything that's happened in the past 24 hours has been a dream. I actually pinched myself a few minutes ago to be sure. I'm not really sure how that works though. Is it like, if you pinch yourself and it hurts that means it's not a dream, because if it was a dream it wouldn't hurt? Is that how it's supposed to work?

Well it hurt, so I'm thinking this isn't a dream.

I just got out of a meeting with the editor. She handed me three yearbooks from previous years, told me to look through them, and on Monday we'll have a meeting to discuss how I want the layout to look and what stories I want to assign to what writers.

"Just play around with it. Have fun. We're leaving it up to you." She said.

Are you fucking kidding me?

I still think she hired the wrong person by mistake. All I wanted to do was write and suddenly I'm the boss of three writers, and I'm in charge of a bunch of stuff, and I'm not really sure what all I'm in charge of.

I'm supposed to hire someone for an open staff writer position next week. I've never hired anyone in my life. What if I do it wrong?

I'm not complaining. I think that every god from every religion decided to smile down on me at once. I think someone realized I needed a break, I needed THE break.

Whatever happened, I like it.

Leave a Reply

