Sidetracked



Drip

I stressed myself to the point of sickness the past couple of days. I can't figure out if it's allergies that I have or a cold. I remember a doctor once telling me that you can tell the difference by looking at your snot. If it's clear, then you probably have allergies. If it's a color, like yellow or green, then you probably have a cold. My sentiment is I would rather not look and be in the dark on the issue. Either way, I don't feel good.

I have some leftover prescription decongestants from a previous bout of allergies and took one of them earlier today, one being half the recommended dosage. The symptoms I was feeling before have now been replaced with lethargy, fuzzy-headedness, disorientation, and a general feeling of drunkenness.

I went to Starbucks to stock my body with caffeine to counteract the decongestants, but that didn't seem to work.

I ran into a couple of D's friends and chatted them up as if they were my own. They treated me just the same, didn't inquire the whereabouts of D. Hugs were exchanged, and we went on our separate ways.

I sat out on the patio drinking a mocha and pretending to read the latest David Sedaris book, but really I was people-watching and eavesdropping on conversations.

Then I drove around and thought about things. Thought about writing, how I shouldn't be driving, buying stuff with money I didn't have, and the potential party that was bound to happen tonight.

Now I just have to figure out how to power through the condition.

Leave a Reply

