Sidetracked


« Drip | Home | Flush »

Cruel and Unusual Punishment

The past four days have spoiled me. I don't want to go to school anymore. After 16 years of going to school I am ready to retire. I want something to fill my day that I get paid for, something that I don't have to take home with me, something that doesn't consume every aspect of myself and my life.

I only have a year and a half, if I'm lucky, but it seems like an eternity. I don't even respond anymore when people ask me if I'm planning on going to graduate school. Are you kidding me? I'm beginning to think that people that go to grad school are very sick individuals.

Enough is enough.

Meanwhile, at work one of my writers is trying to weasel out of covering politics on campus, specifically the upcoming election. His reasons being he has very strong viewpoints, he already knows who he wants to vote for, and he doesn't want his stories to be biased.

This happened to irritate the hell out of me, because not only did he get the editor into the mix by having her ask me to reassign the "politics on campus" section, but he is a journalism major.

I feel it is my duty to make him write stories that are strictly objective no matter how passionately he feels about them, and as head writer I happen to have the power to do this.

It's nice being in charge for once.

Leave a Reply

