Sidetracked



Delegated

It has been a very long couple of weeks, and it's going to be a very long year. I'm so busy these days that I hardly have time to keep in touch with some very important people.

I'm getting into the managerial groove. I'm going to make a kick ass boss one of these days.

It's weird because I never imagined myself to be any kind of leader. Having tasks delegated to me has always been a much more comfortable position.

One of my writers is 32 years-old. I can't even think about how old he is when I'm talking to him, because it totally weirds me out. I have to pretend that he's this big, older-looking kid. He's really cool and it doesn't seem to bother him that I'm his boss, but it just doesn't feel right. I mean, he was in junior high when I was born! How strange is that?!

Then I have a writer that is a big, fat liar. He lies right to my face, and doesn't even hesitate to make up multiple stories about the same lie. Either he thinks I'm an idiot, or he thinks he can get away with it. I gave him a strike (three strikes and you're out policy) for missing a deadline. He really should have been fired for that, especially since he lied to me about why he missed the deadline, but since I don't have any interns right now I can't afford to lose him.

So, I'm looking for interns if anyone is interested in commuting to Lil' D to write for a college publication for free.

My third writer is awesome for the most part. He's self-motivated, doesn't ask much of me, gets his shit turned in early, and has a very sarcastic way of writing, which I love and everyone else hates (and it kind of makes me love it more that everyone one else hates it).

So anyway, I'm eating, sleeping, and breathing the yearbook, and I'm starting to love it. When it's all said and done it will be this little thing that I helped create, and people will have it for years and years, even if it's only collecting dust.

Leave a Reply

