Sidetracked



Under the Influence

I probably shouldn't be doing any kind of writing right now. I took two Tylenol Cold: Severe Congestion Non-Drowsy about three hours ago and I'm feeling pretty ridiculous. You'll have to excuse me if this post doesn't go anywhere.
The medicine managed to soothe my congestion, coughing, sore throat, and headache though.
I've been thinking about New Year's resolutions on and off for the past few weeks. I usually make resolutions, and being the determined, hard-headed (some might say stubborn) person that I am, I stick with those resolutions and round off the year victorious.
For instance, the past three years, I resolved to lose ten pounds, and each year I managed to lose ten pounds and keep those pounds off. I know most of you are thinking anyone could lose ten pounds in a year and keep it off, but for a good chunk of my life I fought with a number of eating disorders. So, changing the way I think about food and think about my body was part of the process. It's an ongoing process, by the way.
I'm pretty proud of that.
But this year I've been somewhat apathetic about New Year's resolutions. I kind of want to make some, and I've been thinking about the ones I want to make, and I think I might be ready to do so.
Here goes:

I'm going to work on my relationships with my family more. I have strange relationships with each and every member, and I just want to make them stronger and healthier. There are so many family members to keep up with though, so this is going to be a daunting task.
I'm going to be around for my friends more often. Without my best friends I would not be here today. I owe them big time.
I'm going to work on meditating. I have some serious problems with stress, which leads to depression and anxiety, which affects those important relationships I mentioned before. I refuse to take medication, and I have trouble talking to therapists, psychologists, and psychiatrists, so meditation it is.
Finally, I'm going to find some new hobbies. I get so caught up in school and work and keeping up with people that I forget how to have fun on my own. I've got to have some hidden talents just waiting to emerge, and I plan on finding them.
I'm sure I'll think of other resolutions in upcoming months, but for now I think this is enough.
It's kind of nice how that Tylenol stuff makes you feel all warm and fuzzy.
I really shouldn't be writing right now.

Leave a Reply

