Sidetracked



The Night the Camera Died

Last Friday evening started out very promising. I had a belly full of fresh mozzarella and tomatoes, I was gulping down mojitos, and I was in the best of company. My mind was churning with creativity that night as I thought of all the wonderful things I want to do after I graduate next year. And I had my two month old, sparkly red camera tucked safely in my bag.
After doing all the damage we could do at the Meridian Room, we decided to stroll around the corner to New Amsterdam.
How could anything bad possibly happen at New Amsterdam?
Perhaps the removal of their juke box was an omen. Isn't that why we went to New Amsterdam to begin with? I know I mention that I had dollar bills in my wallet that were just screaming to play some Fiona Apple.
As we huddled around a tiny table in the back we maneuvered my camera around the clutter of glasses and bottles.
This is where things got a little fuzzy.
After moving to a big comfy booth, conversations swirled around favorite movies, old sorority friends and Valentine's Day.
I stumbled out of the booth and did my best to walk to the bathroom without looking completely wasted. When I came back to the group Dave had the camera propped up on a beer glass and was taking a picture of Mike and Lauren.
My first instinct was to say that that wasn't a good idea. But when you're drunk common sense is rarely acted upon.
So I sat down, turned the camera around and balanced it on the glass so that I could take a picture of me and Dave. Dave reached over to turn on the flash or something, and I thought he was reaching over to grab the camera.
I let go.
No one was holding the camera. NO ONE WAS HOLDING THE CAMERA!
And the camera slid into the glass with a galunk.
There was a second when everything stopped. We stared. Every bit of alcohol that had taken a hold on me evaporated from my body and I was completely sober.
Finally one of us pulled the camera out of the glass and beer poured from its face.
Mike wrapped it up in his shirt, while assuring me that once it dried out it would be fine.
"But you have to admit, that was pretty funny!" He said between laughs.

It's been drying out for a few days now. The screen comes on for a couple of seconds and tells me 'E18'. That's all it will say. Apparently the E18 error is something every digital Cannon owner dreads. The dreaded E18. So my camera has a bad case of E18, and it isn't likely that it will ever recover. Its innards are sticky with Fat Tire; its cute little lens refuses to pop out. The moral of this story is pretty obvious I think. A lesson has been learned. People, cameras and beer do not mix.

Leave a Reply

