Sidetracked



It’s like totally Friday!

I was watching Lizzie Maguire the other night and got all misty-eyed as Lizzie's dad explained to her that you know you are all grown up when you don't eat dinner until 10 p.m. because you have to take care of other responsibilities first.
Okay, so the way he said it sounded more meaningful and insightful. But I was all, I totally don't eat dinner til 10 most nights, because I totally have way more responsibilities now than I ever have! It just made me feel like a grown up. I don't want to be a grown up!

Lately I've been really envious of little kids. I see my dad playing with my nephew, pretending to be a monster, or pretending that they're on treasure hunts, and it reminds me of when he used to play around with me like that.
Life got serious really fast and I'm not sure when that happened. I want to go back, just for a day, to play in the sprinkler, have my mom read me a story, listen to my dad make up silly songs. I want my biggest concern to be making it inside the house before the streetlights come on in the evening, or being able to go to a slumber party on a Friday night.
I'm putting the breaks on this growing up stuff for a little bit. At least until Monday crashes down on me with another set of responsibilities.

Leave a Reply

