Sidetracked



I’ve had a bag of M&Ms today, and I’m feeling fine.

Things are beginning to line up better as the week progresses.
The writer that I've been bitching about for weeks, months maybe, actually came into the office to write stories today! We are now devising plans to attack him. We probably won't act any of them out, but it's therapeutic to fantasize. He now has seven stories outstanding instead of eight. Progress is nice.
I spent the night in my new apartment last night. I got myself good and exhausted by unpacking boxes, hanging the shower curtain, making the bed and figuring out the best location for the TV antenna, before going to bed. I slept nicely; the best sleep I've had in days actually.
I've decided my reward for finishing the yearbook will be a haircut, which I desperately need. This gives me something to look forward to. A little bit of motivation, like I have a choice about whether or not the book is turned in on time.
My dad loaned me his truck for a couple of months to give my poor lil' Acura a much-needed rest. I was a teensy bit sad to see my car go, wanting to make a list of all of its quirks for my dad, but the truck is a nice change. I kind of want to wear my straw cowboy hat and listen to the Dixie Chicks when I drive it.
I start my internship on Monday. I'm excited and a little nervous. This is a new world for me. I'm going from the top of the food chain, where I can boss around writers and help make important editorial decisions, to being free labor at the very bottom.
This has been a crazy year so far, and it's only going to get crazier. It's scary, but I've really had a lot of fun trying to find my way through it all.

Leave a Reply

