Sidetracked



Did y’all know that Diet Coke is now Coca-Cola Zero?

That has nothing to do with this post.
My throat hurts. I gulped hard in my sleep and the pain woke me up at 4:30 this morning. When I woke up at 8 a.m. I was certain that I wouldn't be able to go to work. But I got up and went about my morning routine, ignoring the pain, and I made it all the way to work without collapsing. So, maybe I'll be okay.
The reason sore throats suck, besides the obvious, is that it's usually the beginning of something much worse. Like a five-day stretch of incessant sniffling, sneezing, coughing, aching, stuffy head and fever.
But I think if I load up on vitamins today, drink lots of water and maybe gargle with warm salt water, I can probably trick my body into believing that it's really healthy.
Oh and I could probably make my way over to Starbucks for a Venti Unsweetened Black Iced Tea. That has good stuff in it, right? Like anti-oxidants or something. I don't really know what anti-oxidants are, but I know they are good.
Man, what happened to summers at camp or spent playing in the sprinkler or going to the pool? When did I get too old for that, and why didn't someone warn me it was all coming to an end?
Sorry, don't know where that came from.

Leave a Reply

