Sidetracked



Umm…

I'm probably the most indecisive person I know, and I think I get more indecisive as I get older. I'm not sure what causes this. I think I've heard that low self-esteem and depression can cause indecisiveness, but I have spent 30 minutes trying to pick out which shampoo I want while feeling happy and like the coolest person in Walgreen's.
So, I dunno.
When Dave and I go out to eat, I'll scan the menu several times and pick out three different meals that sound good and then narrow it down to two and then ask Dave which one I should get. Then, whichever meal he says I should get, I get the other one.
Sometimes when I hang out with other indecisive people and we're trying to figure out what we should do or where we should go, I'll jump in and make a decision or give three possibilities to the group and let them pick. I really just do this to make myself feel better. Like, I made a decision before them, so therefore I am the winner.
Sometimes when I got shopping for things that come in a wide variety, like soap, detergent or flip-flops, I'll turn it into a kind of test for myself. I'll have to choose a bottle of detergent from the shelf of 50 different kinds in a certain amount of time. I don't win anything by beating the clock, except for personal satisfaction.
So anyway, I don't really know where I was going with this, but after reading over what I just wrote, I realize what a giant loser I am. Low self-esteem?

Leave a Reply

