Sidetracked



On a Lighter Note

If you insist, Lauren.
10 years ago: Hmm, I think I've blocked most memories from that period in my life. My parents had recently divorced. That was the summer between sixth and seventh grade. I was probably going to swim practice every morning, bouncing from one parent's home to the other, and daydreaming about embarking on adventures.
5 years ago: I was lifeguarding and teaching swim lessons at the Y and spending all of my hard-earned money at Urban Outfitters. Getting ready for my senior year of high school.
1 year ago: Going through a painful break up that turned out to be just a break, taking a poli-sci class at NT, and getting ready for a much needed vacation at Lake Travis.
Yesterday: So productive. I wrote two stories, caught up with a neglected Denton friend, and spent the evening in bed watching bad television and eating Ramen Noodle.
Today: Waiting for someone to return my phone calls while being very unproductive. Taking lots of smoke breaks with the layout guy. This evening Dave and I will head up to lil' D for Shelley's Birthday Celebration Round II. Things are NEVER boring when Shelley's around.
Tomorrow: I'll definitely sleep in. No plans the rest of the day. Tomorrow evening we're supposed to go to an engagement party, which leaves me wondering, What the hell do I wear to this thing? and Are we supposed to bring a gift?
5 snacks I enjoy: Chocolate, Chips (pretty much any kind, but I love Fritos), Cheese, Coffee (Iced Grande Non-fat Mocha, please and thank you!), and Tortillas with Cheese.
5 bands that I know the lyrics of MOST of their songs: Weezer, No Doubt, James Taylor (not necessarily by choice), Grandaddy, and Bob Schneider.
5 things I would do with $100,000,000: Pay off my parents debt, buy my mom a new house anywhere she wants, pay off my own debt, travel, and invest the rest of it.
5 locations I'd like to run away to: Austin, Hawaii, Spain, California, and Jamaica (except not right now, cause thar's a hurricane a comin).
5 bad habits I have: procrastination, smoking, overanalyzing things until I freak out, oversleeping, and biting my nails.
5 things I like doing: Writing, sleeping, hanging out with friends, swimming, and reading magazines.
5 things I would never wear: thongs, teensy bikinis, boy shorts, spike heels, and bright red lipstick.
5 TV shows I like: Real World, Seinfeld, Dateline, Curb Your Enthusiasm, and Sex and the City.
5 movies I like: Office Space, Donnie Darko, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Manhattan, and Everyone Says I Love You.
5 famous people I'd like to meet: Amy Sedaris, Jerry Seinfeld, Stevie Nicks, Susan Orlean, and Jane Pratt.
5 biggest joys at the moment: Friday, Coca-Cola Zero, thinking about vacation next weekend, thinking about seeing friends tonight, and being at a kick-ass internship.
5 favorite toys: as I kid I loved My Little Pony, Barbie, my bicycle, Rainbow Bright, and dolls.
5 people to tag: Dave*g and Alberto. Those two probably won't do it, but I can't think of anyone else.

Leave a Reply

