Sidetracked



Road Trip

The thing about going out of town for the weekend that some people might not understand is that after returning from an out-of-town-weekend I need at least one weekend, maybe two, to recover. Maybe recover is the wrong word. How about chill?
Yeah, I need a couple of weekends to chill.
Although I love traveling around and visiting people, this really drains my funds, my energy and the rest of my summer.
I'm scheduled to go on a "staff retreat" for yearbook before school starts up again, but I have no idea where we are going and when. All I know is I have to be there and I'm not entirely thrilled about it. Here's why: A good friend of mine came up "to see me" a couple of weeks ago with a day's notice. The problem, other than the fact that I don't really like these kinds of surprises, is that she came to see me right after I got back from the lake. So while she wanted to go out and do fun stuff, I was suffering a bad case of vacation withdrawals and thrown back into work. So, I never saw her. And now I feel like a horrible friend, so I'm trying to figure out a good weekend to see her before school starts. Secondly, I really want to go back to Austin one more weekend before I get into the fall semester. I want to see my friends, Sarah and Daniel, again and I want to go float down the river one more time. Plus, I just miss Austin, which is weird because I've never actually lived there, but it just proves that that's where I should be living. Lastly, I ought to make another trip down to Houston to see my mom before school starts. Take those four trips and put one or two weekends between them and you'll see that it's just not possible to squeeze it all into a month. This has got me spinning and I'm sad that I'm going to have to put one or two of the trips on the back burner.

Leave a Reply

