Sidetracked


« Road Trip | Home | Tequila! »

There’s no escaping it.

When I was a kid I went to church every Sunday morning and sometimes Wednesday evenings. Church was an important part of my family's life. For me, it was where my friends were. Learning about Christianity was secondary. And to be perfectly honest, I couldn't have cared less.
So, when I reached junior high, I slowly stopped going to church. Sleeping in sounded much more enticing than sitting through another boring sermon. At that point I wasn't even sure if I really believed in Christianity, or religion as a whole for that matter.
Now, when I do go to church, maybe once a year on Christmas Eve, I look around at these people that really believe that there is an actual being watching over them and I feel so out of place. They feel the more they worship and tithe and preach the better their lives will be.
I used to be envious of such blind faith, wishing that I could believe in all that too.
But now, it just seems silly to me.
Now, we have a good, white, Christian man to lead us as a country, and God told him that this is what he should do. How great is that?!
This man cares about women's issues as much as I care about Christianity.
But kids, if you aren't going to church, George will see to it that you'll get a full dose of his beliefs in school.

Leave a Reply

