Sidetracked



There is a reason why this blog is called Diagnose Me.

The past few days have been like an episode of Seinfeld. The one where George goes to the psychic and she tells him something is wrong with him but she never tells him what it is because Elaine pisses her off, and he chases the psychic out of the room screaming, "Lupus?! Is it Lupus?!"
I've been in limbo just like that. I called the doctor's office today to find out the blood work results and the nurse told me she'd have the doctor call back. I wanted to make her tell me if I was okay or not. But I waited for the doctor to call me with the worst possible news for about an hour and a half. As I sat in the yearbook office, I thought about all the things that could be wrong with me.

Maybe I'm diabetic and I have to get insulin shots for the rest of my life. Maybe I'm dying of some horrible disease that is attacking my central nervous system. Maybe my entire body is slowly shutting down. Maybe I'm going insane.

Yes, I actually had these thoughts.

Finally another nurse called me back and told me the results came back normal. They tested my organs, thyroid, red and white blood cells, and electrolytes. Everything is fine.

So, while this is good news, I still don't have any answers. I was kind of hoping they would find something wrong so I would know the seizures had nothing to do with my brain, but there's always the chance that my brain is normal too.
I'll have the EEG done next week. And then more waiting.

The next two weeks are going to be the longest two weeks of my life. Luckily I've got my schedule booked up with all kinds of stuff, including a visit with the psychologist.

But if I give anyone mean looks or yell at anyone or seem spaced out, it's just because I'm very much on edge.

Leave a Reply

