Sidetracked



Let’s be honest

I've been thinking about moving to an anonymous blog for the past year or so. There are so many things that go on in my life that I would love to write about, but because people I know read this I can't be as honest as I'd like to be.
My sister is getting married this weekend. I've been feeling conflicted about going and anxious about The Day, and it would be so helpful for me to write about it, but I don't want to offend certain people that might read it.

Holidays are another chunk of the year when my stomach is in knots and my mind is racing and I just want to write about it, but once again, I can't because I don't want to offend certain people that might read it.

During therapy yesterday the thought occurred to me that maybe I should just be completely honest in my posts. The consequences are I might hurt someone's feelings, people might get angry with me, some people might not speak to me for a long time. But this is nothing new. And it might actually help other people understand where I'm coming from.

Mike once told me that the best writers are the honest ones. They don't avoid subjects, and they don't sugar-coat anything. At the time, I told him I couldn't write like that; I didn't want to hurt anyone.

But I think it's time to get real.

So, I'm either going to take the plunge soon, or you might not find me here anymore.

Leave a Reply

