Sidetracked



I’m in trouble

I did something horrible a couple of weeks ago and the guilt is eating me up.
I forgot my brother's birthday.

Not only did I forget his birthday, but I called him on his birthday and ask him to take me and Dave to the airport.
I'm going to have to agree with my sister on this one; I am a bad sister.

What are families for, but to remind each other when someone's birthday is approaching? I didn't get any reminders. I even asked my dad why he was spending the weekend in Dallas a couple of weeks ago, and he didn't mention Joel's birthday, even though that was precisely the reason he was coming to Dallas.

My brother called me last week and let me know that I had really hurt his feelings and he thought I was purposely trying to hurt him. Something is really wrong when your brother thinks you're a cold-hearted, passive-aggressive bitch.

I apologized and explained that school and work has taken over my life. Try explaining how busy you are to someone with a six month old son; it just makes you feel worse.

I told my friend about what happened and she doesn't think there's anything I can do to make it up. And this is someone whose entire family missed her mother's birthday one year.

I think cooking dinner and making chocolate cranberry bars might do the trick. Maybe.

Leave a Reply

