Sidetracked



The Birthday Dinner

After playing a little phone tag with my brother this week, I finally got him on the phone last night. Here's how the conversation went:
Me: Hey! What are y'all up to this weekend?
Joel: Well, Kelly's birthday is tomorrow, so we'll probably go out for her birthday or something.
Me (thinking): Are you fucking kidding me?! Another forgotten birthday?!
Joel: What's up?
Me: Ummm. Well. I was calling to see if I could come over and cook a birthday dinner for y'all.
Joel: Okay! Great! That sounds good.
Me (thinking): Thank God.

He's going to run the whole birthday dinner thing by Kelly, my sister in-law, and get back to me. But judging by the sound of his voice, he seemed pleased.

I'm trying to be a good sister. I really, truly am.

Leave a Reply

