Sidetracked



Is this what it’s like to be an adult?

I had a phone interview for a job at a non-profit organization today. Apparently, I impressed the interviewer enough to give me a second interview in Austin tomorrow.
I'm silently freaking out right now.

The interview is all day, 12 to 6 p.m., and it involves public speaking exercises. Can I just say that I'm completely terrified of public speaking? I can hear my mother now. She's saying, I told you to get involved with Toastmaster's a long time ago.

I will also have two interviews with staff members, submit a one-page essay arguing a point based on an article I've read in the newspaper (that I can do), and participate in some petitioning, among other activities.

The attire is business casual. Um, I don't own any business casual. And I am encouraged to stay for dinner afterwards to unwind and socialize with the staff. I don't think staying for dinner will help me unwind.

Besides being scared shitless about the all-day interview, I am also really excited.

I know I can do this.

But this is one of those situations where I have to make a decision, a big decision, on my own, and all I want to do right now is talk to my mom and dad, give them the information, and ask them to decide for me.

Leave a Reply

