Sidetracked



Where is my mind?

I have been so scatterbrained lately. I don't know what's gotten into me. It's making me feel really stupid, so I'm hoping it's just a weird phase I'm going through.
To start off, I managed to lose a lighter and my sunglasses in the same day. You might not think that's so strange, people misplace items like those all the time. But I don't lose things.

Yesterday, as I was trying to find contacts for a story I'm working on about Iraqi War veterans who are students where I go to school, I was forwarded an email from the campus newspaper. The email was between a writer for the paper and the father of a student in the military. The writer wrote a story about this student last year. So I looked up the student's name in the directory, found an email address, and sent him an email asking if I could interview him for the story. Well, it turns out that I emailed the writer of the story and not the kid in the military by accident. And since I've been super sensitive lately, I thought this writer was going to think I'm stupid and tell everyone at the newspaper, and then I'd have to see these people in classes and they would know I'm a dumbass. I know that's irrational, but like I said, I've been really sensitive lately.

Then I had to run over to the RTVF (Radio, Television, and Film) building for an interview with the campus radio station. The campus television station, which I've been trying to get an interview with, is in the same building and both have similar names. So you can see how someone could accidentally walk into the wrong station and act like they had an interview there at 3:00 p.m., which is what I did. Everyone at the television station was really confused about why I was there, and then I realized I was in the wrong place. I got a lot of weird looks from those guys. I'm not looking forward to going back in there for an interview with them.

Later that evening I had to go to a friend's house to work on a class project. I sat at her computer working on my half of the presentation. At times I just flipped through pages not really reading anything, and then asking really stupid questions and just not getting sentences out right.

I don't know if I hit my head, or I'm overwhelmed with everything, or I'm just exhausted, but this absentmindedness has got to stop.

Isn't school supposed to make you smarter?

Leave a Reply

