Sidetracked



I think I’m cured. No, in fact, I’m sure.

I stood at the bottom of the stairs leading to the stage, took a deep breath, and reminded myself to stay in the moment. But as I climbed the steps and handed the white slip of paper with my name typed across the top to the speaker, I could only focus on not tripping.
I heard my name announced, faint applause and cheering at the other side of the Coliseum, and the rest was a blur of snapshots and smiles.

Yesterday was the best day I've had in a very long time. I cannot remember the last time my entire family sat down at a dinner table together. They were more than civil towards each other; they seemed to actually enjoy each other's company.

After everyone had said their goodbyes and left town I climbed into the truck, put on some Bright Eyes, and just cried.
I cried for the years of abuse we've put each other through, and I cried for the possibility of healing.

I really feel like I've ended this chapter on a positive note, and I can't for what happens next. I've got a little money to help me get by during the next couple of months. I'm not going to settle for any old job.

I plan to aim high.

Leave a Reply

