Sidetracked



Smart Fly. New License. Vote Kinky.

A fly moved in with us. I'm not sure how he got in, but he's been flying around the house for a few days like it's the freaking Indianapolis 500 for flies.
He's smart, too. I think in his past life he must have been human, because I swear he's been taunting me. He'll perch on the edge of the laptop and look at me with his big red eyes until I shoo him away. And then last night, while I was getting ready for bed, he was curled up on my purple blanket.

I tried to trap him in the window sill by lowering the blinds. That usually works with flies. They'll buzz around in the window, trying to figure out how to escape, and then die. Not this fly. He was out of the trap in no time.

I figured he'd eventually die as most houseflies do, but he won't. I even opened the door for him a couple of times, but it seems he is content living with us.

In other news, today is the first day I've worn makeup since we arrived in Austin. While living in Dallas, I felt weird going out in public without makeup, but here everyone is so laid back that I would feel weird wearing makeup every day.

I'm going to get a new driver's license today, so I got all dolled up. I haven't had a new picture since I was 18. I also need to register to vote in Austin while I'm at the DMV. I'm actually considering voting for Kinky. I know this will seriously annoy my friends.

Leave a Reply

