Sidetracked



The river did me wrong

All this time I thought a float down the river was a cure for anything: stress, sore throat, nausea, headache, cancer. I felt great when I got off the river. I even went home and cleaned the bathroom, the most disgusting room in the house to clean! That's how great I felt.
But the river soon proved me wrong.

I woke up this morning feeling a bazillion times worse. My throat doesn't hurt quite as bad, but now it's coated in a thick layer of slime, and the slime inched its way up to my head while I was sleeping. I kept switching sides to lie on while I was sleeping so I could breathe out of one nostril at a time. It's better than not having any nostrils to breathe out of. I can actually hear mucous making itself at home in my sinus cavities.

It's not pleasant.

The river isn't always your friend. It will beat you down when you least expect it. Sometimes you have to learn your lessons the hard way.

Leave a Reply

