Sidetracked



Change of Pace

The drive down Oltorf has a spectacular view of rolling hills. It's particularly breathtaking at sunset.

I was feeling sorry for myself yesterday, because I still haven't found a job. I almost applied for a job at Old Navy a few days ago. I sat in my truck outside the store staring at the "Now Hiring" sign. Half of me just wants a job, any job, I'll work at Old Navy if I have to. The other half of me would be sorely disappointed if I wasted a perfectly good Journalism degree on retail. The other half won. 

Being unemployed is difficult. You move slowly everyday. You plan a new outing each day. You try to think of different ways to entertain yourself without spending money. And then doubt sets in. You think about the decent life you had before and wonder why you were so eager to get rid of it.

Then you see that view of the hills as you drive down Oltorf.

I'm going to spend the next three days in Houston. It will be a nice change of pace.  

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * lauren says:

    Heh. Oltorf.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  2. * mike says:

    Everyone feels that way before they get their first break. You’ll get yours. Don’t worry. If you have to work at Old Navy, you work at Old Navy. It’s no big deal. Nothing to be ashamed of.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  3. * ~A says:

    Yeah, I’m with Lauren, Oltorf that’s just silly!

    erhm, I mean, Mike, I’m with Mike. Working in a job that isn’t Journalism isn’t going to mean your degree was a waste – especially not right out of school. Hell, if you wanted to put your degree immediately to work you could have gone to a trade tech. You’ll be fine.

    …after you suffer a bit in the post-graduation depression.

    Then you’ll just be older and the regular depression’ll take over.

    Then you’ll make snarky remarks at kids in college dreading mid-terms.

    You know it’s not really like that. You’ll be fine, whatever you start out doing. He’ll, at least Old Navy’s corporate with structure and a sound business model; it beats putting waiter down on your resume.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  4. * Lauren says:

    My editor has published two books, and he is an editor for my magazine and Time Out Chicago. But a few years ago he was working at Wal-Mart followed by Four Eyes, an eyewear shop. He also waited tables at Bucca de Beppo before that. All with a journalism degree. You’ll definitely find it.

    I hear that Whole Foods employees make a pretty decent salary — more than I make right now. It’s looking tempting…

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  5. * ~A says:

    Whole Foods is a terrific company to join. I worked the front during one summer in college and learned about their structure and was really impressed. Also, I had a whole lot of fun with the people I worked with… if you had to do something while looking around the may not be too bad.

    Also, I hear that working at Wal-Mart is a tried and true path to getting your book published.

    :o)

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  6. * mike says:

    An eyewear shop called Four Eyes? That’s offensive.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  7. * Rebekah says:

    What’s so silly about Oltorf?

    And maybe I will check out Whole Foods. I won’t be working at Old Navy for a couple of reasons.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  8. * lauren says:

    Actually, I think it’s “For Eyes.” Same difference. Nerd. (I’m talking to Mike, not you Bek).

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

