Sidetracked



On the road, again

I’m back in town. It’s weird coming home to a town that you’ve only lived in for a month. It kind of feels like home, but at the same time you see the skyline and think maybe you went crazy somewhere along the way and ended up in the wrong city.

I might head back to Houston on Thursday for a funeral. I wasn’t close to the person who passed away, but she was a family member, and with a dysfunctional family like mine anyone who’s grieving needs all the support they can get.

I’m trying to be really good with my money, but I seriously need a haircut. Since my aunt is a hairdresser, I was thinking about asking her to cut my hair while I’m in town for the funeral. Would it be insensitive for me to ask at a time like this? It seems a little insensitive.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * ~A says:

    Not only have you gone crazy, you’ve ended up in the wrong city.

    I don’t think it would be insensitive to ask for the haircut unless any of the following apply: (Presented a la Letterman’s Top 10 lists)

    10. The dearly departed is your aunt’s former husband or son.
    9. You want the haircut during the funeral.
    8. You insist on referring to the gathering of the grieved as “Dysfunction Junction”.
    7. You tell her, mid-cut, that you must have gone crazy sometime during the trip to Houston and ended up with the wrong stylist.
    6. You joke that you hope to score family funerals about once a month now that you found free haircuts.
    5. You ask her to shave “F U Auntie” on the back of your head.
    4. You request just a cut but insist on a bikini wax, too.
    3. You show up for the haircut but skip the service.
    2. You show up for the haircut and attend the service but whisper loudly the whole time about how much you hate your haircut.

    …and number 1 on how to turn a simple request into an insensitive act:

    1. You show up to her salon drunk and dump a client our of the chair shouting, “THIS IS JUST HOW I GRIEVE, JERKS!”

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  2. * ~A says:

    Update: I really put time into this comment to make you laugh and now no one will see it! :B(

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  3. * Rebekah says:

    I laughed, ~A!

    And people can just scroll down a little bit and laugh with us. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  4. * ~A says:

    It was right when I posted the comment I noticed you’d updated – I was just whining. See my silly pathetic face with monster-boogers issuing? Anyway, I’ve plugged it over at scattershot since I haven’t quite got anything else yet. ;o)

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago


Leave a Reply

