Sidetracked



Arachnids

I thought my days of battling eight-legged creatures in the car were over when I swapped vehicles with my dad. But as Dave and I climbed into the truck last night after a hearty meal at Thunder Cloud Subs, I realized the war was not over. A spider the size of a quarter, maybe larger, dangled from the rear view mirror and we promptly screamed like little girls and jumped out of the truck. The spider darted around the console, occasionally pausing to plot his next move, and then disappeared into some dark crevasse. The Thunder Cloud employees gave Dave some Tupperware to capture the creature in. I’ve found that Austinites are not afraid of spiders.

We searched the car for a while but never found it. I considered leaving the truck in the parking lot and hitching a ride home – I could just come back the next day and set the truck on fire – but Dave insisted that we drive home. My worst nightmare came true last night. I was trapped in a small space at the mercy of a large insect.

I got online today to research spiders in cars. I read about a woman called Little Miss Muffet who suffered from Arachnophobia and would leave lit cigarettes in the car because she thought the smoke would keep spiders away. This seemed like sound advice to me, but the author went on to discuss how crazy she was. The only other advice I found was to park the car in a sunny spot with the windows cracked. Apparently spiders hate being hot. The sky is overcast today, so that solution is out. The only other thing I can think to do is find the spider and set him on fire. Not only will that take care of my problem, but it will teach other spiders who might be watching not to mess with me.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Rebekah says:

    Update:

    I just vacuumed the truck and sprayed A LOT of spider killer spray on the floor boards and under the seats. I’m going to give it an hour or so to air out and then I’ll head over to the car wash. If this doesn’t do the trick I don’t know what will.

    And because I’m spending all this time and money on killing spiders, I have to hem my pants myself. Ugh. But that’s another story.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  2. * mike says:

    Spiders in a motherfucking car!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  3. * jen says:

    When I read your site name, I automatically get Uncle Tupelo’s Steal the Crumbs in my head..

    Sidetracked down the middle
    Never saw it coming, what a surprise
    It’s been a wonder

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  4. * Rebekah says:

    I’ve never heard that song before.

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago


Leave a Reply

