Sidetracked



I got away from it all, sort of

I had a post all ready to go and saved it to post later and now it’s gone. The gist of it was I am back from vacation. I had a blast, mostly. It took my mind off of the unemployment situation – which I will now refer to as The Problem or something more clever when I think of it – for a while. Except for those moments when I would be in deep relaxation with a beer in one hand and a cigarette in the other and my step-mom would start freaking out about how I’m about to run out of health insurance. At one point she mentioned that she had a feeling I would have a hard time here and thought I should consider moving elsewhere.

Oh, but the good stuff. There was plenty of good stuff. I drove a wave runner around the lake, tubed down the Comal, watched kids jump from the cliffs around Krause Springs, read several back issues of Texas Monthly, and consumed horrendous amounts of queso and guacamole.

Last night I dreamed about Dallas friends. It was good to see so many familiar faces, and they were all happy to see me.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * mike says:

    You should get a job in high finance.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  2. * ~A says:

    about to run out of health, insurance.

    that’s heavy.

    tubed down the Comal

    that’s weird

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  3. * Angela says:

    It’s a prerequisite to enter the real world with no health insurance? I mean, I just the stuff…I went a whole year unprotected. Having no health insurance = being a true adult.

    You mentioned Texas, do you live in the great state of Tejas also?

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  4. * Rebekah says:

    Yup, I’ve lived all over Texas, Houston, Dallas and Austin.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  5. * David Grant says:

    I miss health insurance.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

