Sidetracked



Wait, what?

When you do nothing but eat and drink for seven days straight, it’s a little jarring when you return to the real world where that sort of thing just isn’t acceptable, unless you’re a glutton or an alcoholic, and even then it still isn’t acceptable.

So I’ve been trying to monitor my eating habits the past couple of days and I’m completely ravenous. I went from guacamole and queso heaven to eating reduced fat Triskets. Triskets are not tasty. It’s like eating a brillow pad, according to Dave. And he’s right. It’s exactly like chewing on a lightly salted brillow pad. And yet I cannot stop eating them once I start.

I’ve turned to applying for crappy jobs. Yesterday I applied to be a cashier at a taqueria.

Looking for a job is like dating. Sometimes you lower your standards because you’re sick of sitting at home by yourself on Saturday nights. Really, you’re just desperate – but I still won’t admit that out loud. And then you get that job at the taqueria and in the back of your mind you think you deserve better. And then bitterness sets in. But I’m sick of sitting at home by myself of Saturday nights, so lowering my standards seems like a good plan right now.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * ~A says:

    Way to go, Dave.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  2. * sidetracked says:

    I wasn’t refering to dating Dave!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  3. * lauren says:

    However, a job at the Taqueria brings the promise of more guacamole and queso.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  4. * Rebekah says:

    This is true. And they are supposed to have really good fish tacos according to Texas Monthly.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  5. * ~A says:

    heh heh heh

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  6. * Rebekah says:

    I don’t even want to know what you’re thinking ~A.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  7. * Amy says:

    Speaking of jobs, I’m REALLY hating mine right now. I’m hating it so much, I’m actually thinking of doing something totally and utterly different — something I have absolutely no experience or skill in. So to me, a cashier at a taqueria doesn’t sound bad at all. And like Lauren said, all the yummy guac and queso you could want. 🙂

    Good luck with everything.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  8. * mike says:

    If you get that job I want a discount on tacos.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

