Sidetracked



Hanging on

I’m having a bad week. It’s worse than my usual weeks. Today was particularly bad, so I’m hoping that means good stuff is just around the corner. I need some good stuff.

I was so nervous in my interview yesterday that I’m sure I gave the impression that I’m a complete idiot. People have told me that I probably did better than I think I did. And I would say that to someone who felt they had a bad interview, too. It’s a nice thing to say, but it didn’t make me feel better. My nervousness was combined with PMS, which is so unfair, especially if I was up against any male applicants who will never experience PMS.

The point is, I can do that job and I can do it really well, but I have no idea if I conveyed that to them.

Then today I had a dentist appointment in Houston. On the way back to Austin I got lost and ended up in San Antonio. So I drove seven and a half hours for a dentist appointment.

To make my drive home even better, my dad called and told me how important it is that I apply for any job, even if it isn’t something I really want to do. I told him I had and finding a job here is tough and I can’t force people to hire me. I guess the only places I haven’t applied at are strip clubs. Did I mention The Yellow Rose is hiring?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * mike says:

    Did you remember to mention that you’re an orchid expert?

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  2. * Amy Bo Bamy says:

    On the plus side: today is Friday! Your bad week is almost over.

    Hope your weekend is filled with relaxation, ice cream, and some good movies. At least that’s what I’m shooting for…

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  3. * ~A says:

    Sounds like someone forgot to stay on the sunny side.

    I hope your weekend is filled with jobs. And, hey, you might have lucked out re: that interview: maybe all the male applicants were suffering from blue balls – even playing field!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  4. * Rebekah says:

    I forgot to mention that I also sent out some cover letters to several places looking for an administrative assistant. I didn’t read over the cover letters before I sent them. It was the same cover letter that I sent to an abortion clinic last week, and the last paragraph explained how I think women’s rights are very important.

    These people will either be really impressed or think I’m crazy.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  5. * ~A says:

    Sounds like, once you hit San Antonio, you should have just kept driving west on to California. Things are much easier here. I mean, hey, it’s CaliFKingfornia.

    …still upset you didn’t get me a belt buckle at the Alamo. Next time, huh?

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  6. * Rebekah says:

    Yeah, next time. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  7. * lauren says:

    We can probably give you a job if you move to Chicago 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  8. * Rebekah says:

    Aww, thanks!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  9. * mike says:

    I want you all to know, by the way, that I believe women’s rights are very important.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

