Sidetracked



Star Sighting

We saw Quentin Tarantino directing a movie at Guero’s last night. As we wandered into Home Slice we noticed huge bright lights surrounding the front patio of the restaurant across the street. One of the people we were with mentioned Tarantino and sure enough there he was with his cowboy shirt, jeans and humongous head.

Like with the half-naked woman at the pool, most people acted cool about it, like they really didn’t care if there were actual celebrities filming a movie across the street. I wasn’t one of those people. I wanted to ask him if he wanted to have drinks with us, and I kind of wanted to find out what hotel he was staying at so I could stalk him.

We snuck across the street to have a better view and watched them film one scene over and over again. When the movie comes out, pay attention for this line in particular:

“Know it? I fuckin’ wrote it!”

I was just a few feet away when that scene was filmed.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * ~A says:

    I’ll be watching for that line – did you manage to slide a hairband or anything across the floor, you know, leave your mark? 🙂

    He does have a really big head, though, no? I think he’s a lot of fun.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  2. * Amy Bo Bamy says:

    Hehe, how cool!

    (By the by, I would’ve had the urge to stalk him myself, if anything at least to find out where I could get those yellow & black “fuck U” kicks from Kill Bill…) 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  3. * lorie says:

    Awesome!

    You know, the minute I read “Quentin Tarantino” I planned to make a comment about his big gigantic ninehead, but then you beat me to it. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  4. * mike says:

    Comment!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  5. * ~A says:

    Okay, here’s a story. It’s …1999 or 2000 and a friend’s come back to NYC from SF. The morning of her departure she, another friend, me and my girlfriend have lunch at a cafe on the farthest edge of the West Village. After our meal, all of us hungover from the previous night and still dragging our feet, my peppy girlfriend insists we all take a picture but that it be outside “’cause it’s beautiful day!”. (Every day was a beautiful day outside according to her.)
    She hurries out of the cafe while we all shake our heads and take as long as we can to gather our things, pay, rise from our chairs.
    3 minutes later she rushes in, exclaiming, “Hurry up guys, I’ve got someone outside who’s gonna to take our picture!”

    Outside we all go and at one of the two tables that flank the door there’s a man bent over papers making notes. My girlfriend gathers us together and says, “Okay, so this very nice man is going to take our picture so you guys get ready!”
    She turns to the man, who the three of us now recognize, and goads him up. “Okay, we’re ready now. Thanks for agreeing to do this!”
    He comes to as if snapped out of deep thought, “Oh, oh yeah, right. Okay, no problem, um, yeah, um that’s a good spot there, or, maybe a bit to the left, yeah, like that – (some time into this both friends look to me wide-eyed and I mouth back She Doesn’t Know and smile at the camera) – okay good! Okay, got it. Yeah, that’s going to be a nice shot.”

    My girlfriend thanks him effusively and collects the camera. He insists again that it’s been no trouble and returns to his table and to his work. As we walk away, still grouped together as we’d been for the picture, I gently ask my girlfriend whether she’d recognized the man she volunteered to help us. “I thought he kinda looked familiar but who, who is it?!”

    3 guesses of who it is that took the shot.
    …and now I’ve got to dig it out and post it to Flickr. It’s no extraordinary shot, just a picture of 4 people on a sidewalk shot with a cheap disposable camera but I get a kick out of it every time I see it.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  6. * Amy Bo Bamy says:

    Woody Allen?

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  7. * Rebekah says:

    Carrot Top!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  8. * Amy Bo Bamy says:

    Now that’s scary.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  9. * ~A says:

    heh heh.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  10. * David Grant says:

    Al Roker

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  11. * sidetracked says:

    Well, who was it?

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  12. * ~A says:

    oh. sorry. It was Quentin Tarantino. He was… doing whatever he was doing for whatever reason he was doing it and my girlfriend, I guess, just ran through a quick explaination of what she wanted and why and then asked if he’d snapped the picture. …so he did. The visiting friend is a film-maker and working on something all herself at the time so was kinda kicking herself for not trying to chat him up but, no, we just walked away, giggling like kids.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  13. * mike says:

    These pretzels are making me thirsty!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  14. * John says:

    Here’s the movie: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0462322/

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  15. * Rebekah says:

    Thanks

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  16. * Amy Bo Bamy says:

    Here’s the Wiki on the movie(s). 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 10 months ago
  17. * ~A says:

    Here’s a Wookie -from the movie(s). 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

