Sidetracked



It’s hard to make the good things last

We spent the weekend treking around Zilker Park for Austin City Limits Festival. It was mostly wonderful. The only souvenir I brought back is this lovely sunburn that matches my hair. I blend.

Friday night we saw the Black Angels and The Shins at Stubb’s. I couldn’t see The Shins, but I could hear them, and the music reminded me of old friends from an old city and the good times we had.

I think The Flaming Lips had the best show all weekend. It doesn’t get much better than standing in a crowd of thousands singing “Do You Realize?” Except maybe singing “Free Fallin” during Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers.

That was right before the rains came.  The lighting filled clouds were a nice backdrop for the show, but they swooped in pretty fast causing everyone to flee for the taxi line. That’s where I stood in line for 20 minutes while my bladder threatened to explode. Friends offered an empty water bottle, but I don’t think what I have works that way. So, I suffered and Dave held my hand.

We finally made it home and toyed with the idea of seeing Cat Power at Stubb’s. But we were cold and wet and tired, and food and sleep seemed so much nicer.

It was a good weekend.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * ~A says:

    That sounds nice. Shins reminds me of G and the bmw when he said he really liked it. I’ll forever be disappointed that the Flaming Lips show at the Hollywood Bowl was so so-so – and that it was mainly so because Wayne couldn’t let up on the crowd and just play the fKing songs. 😦 I remember thinking that it’d be so much better in Texas.

    Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers; I really do like me some Tom Petty.

    This is a good post, well-balanced and it doesn’t feel truncated.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  2. * Rebekah says:

    Thanks, ~A. We missed you last weekend!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  3. * Amy Bo Bamy says:

    I SOOOO wanted to go to ACL this year. Especially when I found out Ween would be there. And then they released the schedules and I was SOOOO disappointed their set would only be one hour — to give you an idea of my Ween obsession, that’s such a tease.

    We instead opted to get tickets to the Ween show up in Tulsa at Cain’s Ballroom — a full-on balls-to-the-wall show. OH MAN, I was so excited; I looked forward to it for weeks.

    Only to have to turn right back around an hour outside of Oklahoma City because of a family emergency. We missed the show, and I feel like such an asshole because I’m still pissed about it.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  4. * Rebekah says:

    Dave’s really into Ween, too. We watched them for a few songs, but White Ghost Shivers were playing on another stage and I really wanted to see them, so we left the Ween show. They were pretty good, though.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  5. * ~A says:

    family emergencies are over-rated.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  6. * Rebekah says:

    Huh?

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  7. * Amy Bo Bamy says:

    “family emergencies are over-rated.”

    most especially when they turn out to be nothing. :/

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  8. * Jen says:

    Too bad you missed Cat Power!!! But I understand the need for sleep!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  9. * Rebekah says:

    Turns out Cat Power ended early, so we would have missed it anyway.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

