Sidetracked



Rough Day

I had the last four of seven cavities filled today. I don’t know how I managed to accumulate so many cavities. I never really had problems with my teeth before. The first three fillings went pretty smoothly, but today the dentist kept hitting a nerve while drilling. I would scrunch up my face and whimper and he’d apologize. Then he’d dig the drill into the nerve again. I hate the dentist. I really need my wisdom teeth pulled, because they’re crowding my bottom teeth. But I’ve decided that I like crooked teeth, so I’m just not going to have those molars pulled.

I’ve also decided that I can never go to an HEB, or any other grocery store, ever again. Grocery stores are awful places. As I get older, my patience dwindles, and you’ve got to have a lot of patience to shop at a grocery store. It was really bad today, though. As I waited for the cashier to figure out how much the Women’s One a Day Multivitamins were I just about had a panic attack. I told her not to worry about it. I don’t care if they’re on sale. I’ll pay full price. But she insisted. So I waited.

She couldn’t see why anyone would pay full price, when they could possibly save $4. I watched the woman in the line next to mine spill grapes all over the floor. Then she knocked over her Starbucks cup. The woman behind me inched her cart closer and closer to my ankles. Little kids carrying balloons level with my face skirted around me to look at the candy. For me, getting out of that store as quickly as possible was worth $4. But I waited.

I’ve been thinking about ordering groceries online, but I couldn’t justify that extra $8 they tack on for delivery. That is, until today.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * lauren says:

    Groceries online is a godsend. Try it. You’ll get addicted. Also, word of advice about the cavities — next time you have to get them filled if you’re numbing shot starts wearing off tell your dentist to give you more. Yeah, you may look like you’ve had a stroke the rest of the day, but it’s better than feeling them drill into a nerve.

    PS, I’m pretty sure the crowding of the teeth = more cavities, because my teeth are tight b/c of the f-d up job my orthodontist did and I always have cavities.

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  2. * ~A says:

    1. …I think I’ve already talked about the love-affair I had with online grocery shopping in Dallas over at L’s site.

    2. You should watch this for the dentist part and following commentary hilarious

    3. hey, let’s meet at Ozone’s or whatever that stupid place was called.

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  3. * Rebekah says:

    Ozona? On Greenville? In Dallas? Sure, I’m down.

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  4. * Rebekah says:

    I’m pretty sure I’ll buy groceries online next time, or I’ll just send Dave to the store instead.

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  5. * mike says:

    Dave needs to go and pick up a new beard anyway.

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago


Leave a Reply

