Sidetracked



Yes, it’s a grocery store rant, again

The good thing about avoiding grocery stores is, if you’re like me and prone to anxiety attacks, you can also avoid certain death, because grocery stores are where you go to experience a heart attack. Another plus is you eventually run out of food in the house and subsequently lose weight.

There are some drawbacks, like living off of leftover macaroni and cheese and imitation crab meat for a week. And then, adding to my list of ailments, if you have low blood pressure as I do, going without sustenance for too long can turn one into a monster. Last night I went from mildly irritable to enraged in a matter of seconds. That’s when I chose to pick a fight with Dave about who should go to the grocery store, because I can’t live like this anymore. Dave told me, very delicately, that maybe I should eat something before we talk about this, so I could think rationally. It’s a good thing he said it with fear in his eyes, because I immediately felt sorry for him and let him live.

We eventually have to do something about this food situation. I mean, we’re out of macaroni and cheese and we’re down to our last imitation crab meat leg.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Lauren says:

    http://www.austingrocer.com/

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  2. * mike says:

    Grocery delivery is the greatest thing ever to happen to me.

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  3. * Rebekah says:

    Update:
    We finally ordered our groceries online. Turns out they just go to HEB, buy the groceries and deliver them to the houses. A group of people is in charge of shopping and another in charge of delivery.

    That’s right…there is a group of people that spend their entire work day shopping for groceries at HEB. Lordy!

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  4. * mike says:

    So how would you rate the experience? And could you see yourself shopping for a living, or does the very idea send you into neurosis?

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  5. * Rebekah says:

    I’m a little annoyed that they mark up the prices, charge an $8 delivery fee and request that you tip the delivery person. I understand most of this is necessary, but that’s a lot of extra money. I kind of still think it’s worth. From now on, either Dave goes to the store or we order online.

    And I don’t think I’d last an entire day at the grocery store. I don’t even want to think about it.

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  6. * ~A says:

    I, uh, I’ve already talked about all this elsewhere.

    …but Dave responding to you like you were Jack Torrance is pretty funny.

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago


Leave a Reply

