Sidetracked



Sick Girl

I received the long awaited letter in the mail today. It told me that I am not eligible for insurance through a certain provider here in Texas. I am not eligible because I have no idea how I became anemic.

I remember a woman from this provider calling me a few weeks ago and asking about my depression and anxiety and anemia. I stupidly put these things on the application, because I believe in telling the truth, even if it is to an evil corporation. Anyway, I was on my way home from work one Friday and I was feeling irritable, and this woman was asking me all of these questions about my health history. She asked what kind of anemia I have, and I told her: the kind that makes me black out when I’m not taking iron supplements. But I’m taking the supplements, so that doesn’t happen anymore. I’m fine now. No more black outs. You can forget you ever knew I’m anemic.

I also told her that I didn’t know how I became anemic, which is true. How does one become anemic?

When my doctor discovered this about me, I had recently given up meat and was going through an eating disorder/excercise binge. But I figured anemia is something you’re born with, since it’s something you have for the rest of your life. I don’t know. Maybe I sound completely ignorant right now.

So anyway, I was denied. I was rejected. And this news comes on the heals of my last refill of birth control pills and a looming Well Woman Exam. And my lymph nodes feel a bit swollen.

After reading over this, it’s no wonder I was rejected. I’m a mess.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * ~A says:

    You need not be anemic for life – or ever. Yeah, don’t put that on the insurance. Call back, talk to someone else and tell ’em it was a misunderstanding. You’re not anemic anymore and you can take a test to confirm this. You misunderstood the form but thought that you should state that you became anemic when you cut meat out of your diet. …but you’ve corrected that now (don’t tell whether or not you meat now) and you’re no longer anemic. Anyway, if they request a test it’s easy, fast, anyone can do it (you can tell just by looking at blood) and, since you’re taking your supplements now, you’re fine. (Don’t tell them about the supplements! If they aren’t prescribed, no one needs to know!) (…and if they look at that doctor’s chart, it won’t matter ’cause, again, anemia isn’t something you contract for life/is untreatable – as you already know.)

    call back and just play dumb. You’re likely to get someone completely different, right? Take a chance that person believes you – you didn’t do anything wrong anyway. …and I wouldn’t list anxiety. Anything they don’t find for themselves you can just get rediagnosed by someone else after you’ve got your insurance – then just let them deal with you if it’s still an issue. They’re less likely to drop you than turn you away.

    …sorry. You don’t really need any of this advice but, hey, it’s what I got right now.

    k. I gotta get home now.
    good luck, you! OH! – and, listen, you probably qualify for medical from the feds right now anyway. If you’re no longer claimed as a dependent and you’re making …not a lot of money, you probably totally qualify for state and/or federal medical insurance. Go to a community health center and ask to speak to their financial conselors. Not all clinics have one so call first but the person there Should be able to walk you through your options and give you good information. …and then you go on working on getting private insurance with less stress.

    again, good luck!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Lauren says:

    That sucks. But Alberto gives great advice. Hey ~A, when did you become so wise?

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 9 months ago
  3. * lorie says:

    Alberto does give great advice, and I’ll chime in to agree that you’re not necessarily anemic forever. Some women become anemic during their periods, for example, and anemia can also be brought on by the very things you mention. Sounds like you have iron deficiency anemia, which is easily treatable and it sounds like you’re doing exactly what you should. Maybe they got confused and thought you had one of the more serious kinds, like if you have kidney problems or something? I don’t know, but it might be worth a call back. It’s not like you have sickle cell anemia, after all.

    I’ve been anemic before (to the point where they told me to quit showing up to donate blood, because they were sick of rejecting me), but I’m not now.

    Insurance companies totally suck, by the way. I am lucky that the insurance company I use through my employer didn’t ask me any of that kind of stuff, because they surely would have found numerous reasons not to cover me.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 9 months ago
  4. * Rebekah says:

    Thanks for the advice! I’ll call them back and see what I can do.

    ~A, my doctor faxed them the results of my last blood work, which was from a few months ago. I don’t know what the results showed, but they have that info on file now. Hopefully, that won’t count against me when I call back.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 9 months ago
  5. * ~A says:

    oh wow. wise, eh? awesome.

    Hope it all goes well this time, R. Good Luck!

    …and, if worse comes worst (worse?) then you could always just check yourself into a nunnery. I hear the accomodations can be a bit rough but that they take very good care of you. :o)

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 9 months ago
  6. * mike says:

    Just be patient, Reba. I’m sure George Bush & Co. are working on a way to make comprehensive healthcare affordable for all Americans.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

