Sidetracked



In a rut

The only good thing that has come out of my awful job is it makes me want to be more creative in my free time. Which is actually pretty awesome. Have I got around to doing anything creative in my free time? No. But I will.

Dave’s been in L.A. all week. And I’ve been trying to muster up the willpower to quit my job. I suck at quitting jobs. I don’t know if it’s fear of not finding another one or not wanting to disappoint anyone or being a push over or low self esteem that’s holding me back. It’s probably a combination of all of those things.

I try to remind myself that this job does not define me, which brings me back to wanting to be more creative in my free time. It’s cyclical.

I’m looking forward to next weekend. But I’ll tell you about that later. I’ve got to ration this stuff out.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * mike says:

    It gets easier.

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  2. * ~A says:

    Unfortunately, you must be a subscriber to get It and It‘s only available – once your promotional 6 month grace period ends – to top-tier members. Those who neglect to maintain their membership must settle for it and, unfortunately, it doesn’t have the access to “easier” that It has; it can only get “harder”.

    No, I’m joking. Of course it gets easier. It’s so easy, in fact, I could puke.

    Good luck with the More Creative Freetime plan, that really sounds like you’re on to something; I just sent a fax this morning that should get be started on that very same plan. I’ll post details later should anything really come of it. I hope so.

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  3. * Lauren says:

    I keep thinking I need to do some sort of outside of work activity. Such as volunteering somewhere or taking some kind of class like one night a week. I dunno. Any suggestions?

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  4. * Rebekah says:

    One of my friends here in Austin invited me to join a Double Dutch group. You could start one in Chicago! Kidding.

    You could volunteer at an animal shelter and play with puppies all day. Or you could take cooking classes. Or learn an instrument.

    I’m planning on getting my violin fixed up to play agian. But I’ve been planning on doing that for years.

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  5. * ~A says:

    I suggest you volunteer in some smooth-looking English profs’ class and have a one-night-stand with a different student each week. …but, that’s just what I’m looking to do.

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  6. * ~A says:

    I’m sorry but I keep checking back here and I click through so fast that I keep reading “In a rut” for, “I’m a nut.”

    Anyway, I just thought I’d share the hilarity. cheers!

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  7. * Lauren says:

    we’re coming to Austin!!!!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 12 months ago
  8. * ~A says:

    !!!! = I’m smoking 4 cigarettes at once.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 12 months ago
  9. * Rebekah says:

    Yea! We’re gonna have a super fun birthday!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 12 months ago
  10. * mike says:

    Get out of the rut and update. TIA

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  11. * ~A says:

    yeah, In a rut, my foot – more like in a ditch on the side of the road covered with a sheet.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  12. * strancp says:

    http://www.strancp.wordpress.com

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

