Sidetracked



Here’s Something

I took out my plugs a couple of days ago. They were pink and they were four gauge. What I liked most about them was playing with the little black rings that held them in place in my earlobes. I’d pull them off and squish the rings between my fingers and stick them back on. For a long time, I liked them because they made me feel different and somehow defiant. Like, I was showing everyone how much physical pain I could endure.

But I had to take out my nose ring a few months ago and after that the plugs didn’t feel so special. This is the first time in a very long time that I feel like I blend in with the crowd. There’s nothing defining about my appearance and there’s nothing defining about my life. I’m just a regular nobody paying my rent and trying to cram as much fun stuff in as possible.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * mike says:

    It’s called The Ride of Your Life™

    Please hand over all distinctive jewelry before boarding. You must be completely non-descript to ride.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  2. * ~A says:

    It’s okay, you’re just not craming as much fun stuff into your nose and ears as is possible but you can still be plenty distinctive with your attitude and joi de vivre – or something else in French.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  3. * ~A says:

    You could, like, totally buck the system and vote today. That would be radical.
    http://www.co.travis.tx.us/county_clerk/election/20061107/polls.asp
    totally.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  4. * Rebekah says:

    Yeah, I know about voting. It’s not so radical. I’m feeling pessimistic about this election.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  5. * ~A says:

    Man, I know. First it’s the loss of face piercings and then the disillusionment with politics; getting old can be a bitch, eh? Still, young-people-voting, esp. in the mid-terms, is still an odd thing. Imagine if more did it; perhaps you’d have more to be optimistic about next time… perhaps?

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  6. * Rebekah says:

    I would love it if more young people voted. It’s depressing to know so many people my age that just don’t care.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  7. * ~A says:

    I think the young-people vote is increasing considerably – which is very nice. Dems totally stole a Texas seat, cool huh?

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  8. * Lauren says:

    http://www.rollingstone.com/nationalaffairs/?p=767

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  9. * Rebekah says:

    I must be hanging out with the wrong crowd.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  10. * mike says:

    Election Day had to lift your spirits.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  11. * Rebekah says:

    Yes, that was pretty awesome, and Rumsfeld resigning was the icing on the cake. It all softened the blow of Perry’s reelection.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  12. * ~A says:

    Perry was reelected?!

    Sucks for y’all.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  13. * Amy Bo Bamy says:

    yeah, looks like a bunch of people who otherwise supported Kinky Friedman decided to vote for the candidate with the “D” next to his name because they still believe in the two-party system.

    =(

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

