Sidetracked



“If you ask people what they’ve always wanted to do, most of them haven’t done it. That breaks my heart.”

I found that quote from Angelina Jolie on Mighty Girl.

I’m running late most mornings. That’s one of my biggest problems, being late for everything. I hate this about myself, because being late usually makes me very anxious and that’s not a good way to start the day. I rolled out of bed 10 minutes late this morning. I almost didn’t make it out of bed at all, but I talked myself into going to work.

I started to become comfortable with this job, which was a little depressing, and then Sunday night, after a great weekend, I dreaded going back to work.

Many days I find myself thinking, “I could die today, and I’ve accomplished nothing.” I guess what I should think is, “What do I want to accomplish before I die?”

I won’t bore you with my list. But I wonder if it’s common to think this way, or do most people get sucked into the minutiae of everyday life and forget about what they really want?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * ~A says:

    You haven’t been listening to a word we’ve said, have you? Minutiae; it’s every young adult’s birthright.

    …and getting sucked into it? That’s like falling off an oil-slicked log

    that’s being sucked into a whirlpool

    in the middle of a lake

    …with sharks.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  2. * mike says:

    We remember what we really want. It’s always somewhere in the future. The older you get, the further into the future it goes. At some point, you have to decide whether to do it, or to spend your life looking forward to it. And being disappointed when you find you’re too old for it.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

