Sidetracked



How the other side operates

Let’s revisit that old insurance topic. It’s the only thing I can think of to write about at the moment.

I still don’t have insurance. I was fed up with trying to haggle with insurance companies, only to pay ridiculous amounts of money each month, so I decided to wait until I go permanent at my job and get insurance through the company. Going permanent is taking longer than expected. Actually, I should have expected this, because you can’t expect a company like the one I work for to do anything in a timely manner.

So, I’m like this walking time bomb or something, just waiting for someone carrying a virus to breathe within 10 feet of me.

A virus wasn’t what sent me to the doctor during Thanksgiving weekend. It was something worse, because it required multiple lab tests. I got the bill last week and realized how foolish I was to agree to the testing, but at the time I just wanted to feel better. I was at the doctor’s mercy.

The clinic was filled with sick people, all kinds of sick people from all different income levels, because it was a Saturday. I waited in a large room crammed next to a woman talking on her phone about a family crisis, I waited in several doctors’ offices flipping through back issues of Time and Parents magazine, wondering if someone forgot about me, and finally laid back on the exam table and stared at a picture of a forest torn from a calendar and stapled to the ceiling.

I’m getting over a cold now. I thought it was strep, because the last time I thought I had a cold it was strep. And it would be just my luck to have strep without insurance right before Christmas.

My supervisor says that HR is swamped, that I might not become a permanent employee until next year, but he’s doing what he can to speed things along. I feel sorry for him that he’s trying so hard to make me a permanent employee at a job I hate. And I feel sorry for myself that I need this crappy job for the insurance.

But I’ll keep waiting and looking and holding my breath.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * mike says:

    I wrote an awesome comment and it didn’t go through.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 10 months ago
  2. * Rebekah says:

    Darnit

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 10 months ago
  3. * ~A says:

    I found, copied and tried to post Mike’s awesome but it didn’t go through either. …it’s Mike’s comment – it has a virus the fates are protecting you from. So did you feel better after the test?

    Next time I’m sick I’ll try and take some tests and see if they don’t help. …maybe some algebra, or some Western Civ.

    Good luck and feel better soon. …or, by Feb. at least.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 10 months ago
  4. * ~A says:

    This reminded me of this post for some reason. I think I understand why but haven’t the time now to flesh it out. Anyway, enjoy – and backtrack to the site, it’s pretty damn good.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 10 months ago
  5. * Amy Bo Bamy says:

    There’s definitely something going around and I think it’s The Strep Imitator. Last weekend I went to the doctor thinking I got strep but no, “upper respiratory infection” it is.

    Hope you are 100% in time for Christmas! đŸ™‚

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 10 months ago
  6. * eqsohs says:

    kim kardashian free sex tape

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  7. * sonuwajsaquq says:

    Grnnntt. famosas pilladss Why dont ever want anything up and open my hand toguide it better be.

    | Reply Posted 9 years ago
  8. * positions says:

    sexual intercourse position videos

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

