Sidetracked



Getting around to the new year

I’m usually pretty vocal about my New Year’s resolutions, but I’ve found that telling everyone tends to sabotage the whole thing somehow. So, this year I only told Dave. And half of my resolutions have been sabotaged. Instead of losing five pounds, I’ve packed on six. This probably has nothing to do with quitting smoking.

I’ll keep the other resolution to myself, thank you very much.

In no way motivated by the new year, I have been getting stuff accomplished. I finally got my violin fixed up, purchased a new bow, and now the thing leans against the dresser quite nicely. I also got the hem on some pants re-sewn. I’ve been wearing the same pair of black slacks almost every day for a month. How lazy is that?

I think all of this activity is just a way for me to avoid calling people back. I almost always have a cigarette in hand when I’m talking on the phone. Now, friends and family are calling me and I’m not answering. They’re leaving messages that I’m not listening to. And now they are probably sitting in their homes while the roads ice over and the snow comes down and they’re thinking that I’m dead because I haven’t called back. All because I can’t have a cigarette.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * mike says:

    Bloggity blog blog blog. At least someone is blogging.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 9 months ago
  2. * ~A says:

    As much as I applaud your dedication to quitting the cigs, I just have to share with you just how hilarious I find it that you won’t pick up the phone. I mean, it’s so cool, on the one hand: your strength – but it’s really made me laugh, too.

    Oh, and I think that weighing yourself at all after November 20th or before Feburary 16th is against the tenents of at least 5 major religions.
    (I think adopting post-holiday /winter excerise and diet and then checking on your progress is probably easier on your consitution and long-term goals, too.) …also, I’m wearing pants that have probably been cleaned all of 3 times in a year but which I’ve worn nearly everyday to work for months at a time and to two events over the holidays. Talk about lazy. Talk about yuck.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 9 months ago
  3. * ~A says:

    Mike ruined the run. Bad Mike! Bad!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 9 months ago
  4. * Rebekah says:

    I’ll have something soon.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 9 months ago
  5. * Jen says:

    I wish I could wear my monkey sweats to work.

    I will never quit smoking.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 9 months ago
  6. * ~A says:

    You should smoke your monkey sweats, that’ll learn ya once and for all.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

