Sidetracked



Damn the man

After doing about five minutes of research on the Web, I came to the conclusion that there aren’t any laws or regulations in Texas for mandatory overtime.

There are rumers floating around the office that it’s illegal, this madatory overtime. Forcing your employees to work so much overtime is unethical. And in a place like Austin, where finding a decent paying job takes months, the company I work for knows that we’ll put up with the long hours.

I fantasize about telling off my supervisors every single day, and lately I’ve been tempted to leave material on unions in the breakroom. This job is taking over my life, infiltrating my dreams and affecting my relationships.

What’s a girl to do?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * lauren says:

    Are you getting paid for said mandatory overtime?

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Rebekah says:

    Yes, time and a half, but at this point I don’t even care about the money.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  3. * ~A says:

    You been on that budget, the one that’ll let you take a few months off and search for jobs full time again?

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  4. * Rebekah says:

    Uh, no.

    I’ve got some money, enough to be jobless for maybe two months, but I have not been good about saving.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

