Sidetracked



Kids these days

There has always been a bit of a rift between us and the six guys living next door. The only thing we have in common with them is the thin wall dividing our living quarters. They are noisy, polo shirt wearing, big truck driving, obnoxious college kids. We have endured many sleepless nights because of them, and last night may have been the straw that broke the camel’s back.

At four o’clock this morning I was yanked out of a deep sleep and interesting dream, something that my alarm clock can’t even do, by someone pounding loudly on our front door and a bright light flashing into the window.

I shoved Dave in the back to wake him. I would have gotten up myself, but I was pretty sure local gang members were here to beat our asses and, despite my totally ripped biceps, Dave looks more intimidating than I do.

Dave finally figured out that it was important that he get up and answer the door before whomever was pounding on it knocked it off the hinges. I heard him open the door and an officer introduce himself. He asked Dave if he knew a certain guy (I won’t name names) and Dave said no. The officer showed Dave the guy’s driver’s license, which sparked Dave’s memory. He told the officer the guy lived next door and the officer apologized and left. Dave said then they went next door and arrested the guy they were looking for.

We don’t know why the guy was arrested, but it better have been pretty important to disrupt my sleep and scare the bejeezus out of me.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * mike says:

    Maybe it’ll be something bad enough to get them evicted.

    Was Dave disappointed that he didn’t get to kick anyone’s ass?

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Rebekah says:

    Hah! Probably.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  3. * Ryan says:

    I have some noisy neighbors as well. Last weekend I called the police because, as usual, they were out in their truck drinking with their crappy music turned way-up. Cops came and arrested the driver. He must of had warrants. Felt good.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  4. * ~A says:

    I was startled awake this morning at 4:20am by a single gun shot. I don’t know if there were more before then or if I dreamt this immediately afterward in my effort to go right back to sleep but, in my dreaming then, I was one of several siblings in a house surrounded by other siblings with guns meaning to do us harm. At one point I was shot and a bullet lodged in my eye; I knelt down and planted my face into a towel so others inside wouldn’t have to see whatever might come out of me. And then I was someone else, a girl, and was riddled with bullets once a toddler had been ripped from my grasp; in an act of vengeance, I threw myself at my assailant so I might sufficiently bleed on him.

    A few minutes later there were, from the same general direction and from what sounded like the same place/distance, 4 more shots in quick succession. From the way the sound ripped through the air the shots must have been no more than a few blocks away, if not closer.

    We leave the front door unlocked some nights and, if the cat hasn’t come back already, he opens it himself but, sadly, does not close it up again. I got up and locked the door.

    When I was back in bed and ready to try and get some good sleep for another 2.5 hours the sound of water slapping a saturated patch of lawn attacked my senses as it sometimes has for the past several weeks now. There’s a broken sprinkler head next door so water just shoots straight up out of the ground and comes straight down into my ear.

    Once that was finally done, my mind was caught up with a Double Feature showing of All The Things I Hate.

    and then the alarm told me it was time to get up. All last week I awoke before my alarms – feeling good and ready to take on the day. Today, it took 3 alarms to push me out of bed.

    I had cops come into my place in Brooklyn once, looking for the brother of my roommate who’d been staying with us a while. He was there that night so I shouted for the roommate. He came out, broad-shouldered and bewildered, dreadlocks in disarray, wearing a Pikachu shirt one size too small and a large pair of camouflage Scooby-Do boxers. As pissed off as I was, even as cops entered our place and flashed their lights everywhere, even into the oven, I couldn’t help but stare at him and laugh a little. After they’d gone with an address for his brother, and before I shouted at him about his brother, I laughed a good 20-minute laugh and what he was wearing.
    …good times.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  5. * ~A says:

    (He “wasn’t” there) -and, forgive me but, like I’ve said before, I can’t update from work.

    Oh, and the image of the roommate is funnier if you consider that he wasn’t some Anglo hippy but a large-headed Nigerian dude. …I miss that guy.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

