Sidetracked



Learning to take things in stride

Friday was my final day working in the exciting field of date entry. I vowed never to work in a place like that ever again, no matter the cost. I had fantasized about that day since starting the job, envisioning telling off the supervisors and encouraging my coworkers to go on strike, but the reality was much more civilized. My boss was very understanding. He and some coworkers even congratulated me. It was like we were prisoners, and I had served my time. They all looked so envious.

Today was my first day at Starbucks. I’m nervous about the transition, because I haven’t worked in food service in a very long time, and some people see this as a step back for me. This is what I have to do to survive in Austin. And I know a lot of people that say from experience that Starbucks is a good place to work. Not that I need to explain myself.

To be honest, this isn’t what I imagined my life would be like a year ago. The person I was a year ago expected everything to be handed to her, she expected loads of job offers, she expected to be writing all day, every day. I was pretty surprised to realize life doesn’t work that way.

So no, this isn’t a step back for me. This is just another path. I think I’m headed in the right direction.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Ryan says:

    Great to hear! I worked there when I was 28. It was a stepping stone. But you can actually be sane while your there as opposed to your last job which was eating away at you. Congratulations.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Rebekah says:

    Thank you!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  3. * Lauren says:

    Woohoo! Do you get free coffee?

    Also, is Dave gonna hang out where you work all day?

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  4. * Rebekah says:

    I get free beverages while I’m on the clock and a free pound of coffee every week!

    Dave has been looking for a cool coffee place to work…

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  5. * Amy Bo Bamy says:

    Wow this is awesome! Congratulations on your new job!! (I’m way behind on my blog reading, obviously.)

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

