Sidetracked



The good life

I only started the new job a few days ago, but life is pretty different already. I don’t really have to get up at any reasonable hour since I’ve been working in the afternoons and evenings. But Dave still insists on saying things like, “Rise and shine, you fucking asshole,” every morning around 8:30. What? This isn’t how all couples in loving relationships speak to one another?

Getting up at a decent hour has also been a little difficult due to all of the glorious caffeine. These guys are really big on coffee tastings. Enthusiastic coffee tastings all of the time. Even at 7 p.m. I’m not complaining. You know that Seinfeld episode when Cramer gets the free cafe lattes whenever he wants and he’s all hopped up on caffeine. Uh, yeah.

I’ve also been tempted to turn on The View each morning. But Dave works from home, and he needs to concentrate. And I don’t want to rub it in that I can watch The View, while he spends his morning diligently checking Flickr.

The other weird thing is I still get two days off every week, but they might be on days that other people don’t have off. Like I have this Friday off and I was kind of bummed out about that until I realized I might have the swimming holes in the greenbelt all to myself. Hello, nude tanning!

Really, I have been trying to get some actual work done in my down time. I applied for some more freelance work. And I’ve been catching up on my blog reading. You know, real work.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Lauren says:

    Haha. I kept thinking about that Sienfeld episode when you said you would be working at Starbucks.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  2. * mike says:

    Is Dave all coffee elitist now that he’s been drinking Intelligentsia? I mean, does he tell you to keep Starbucks out of the apartment because it’s for common rabble? I know I would.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  3. * Rebekah says:

    Actually, he said he didn’t like the last pound of Intelligentsia coffee he got.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  4. * mike says:

    Oh snap!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  5. * lauren says:

    You did not say that.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

