Sidetracked


« The good life | Home | LOST »

It doesn’t help that they encourage sampling something from the pastry case during coffee tastings

I wish I could share all of the juicy secrets I’m learning at work, but I feel like I’ll get in trouble somehow. So I won’t. Instead I’ll tell you about my weight loss journey. Booorrriiiinnnggg.

I’ve been on Weight Watchers for the past month and have only lost two pounds. This is due to my complete lack of self control in restaurants. Last night we had dinner at Rudy’s Barbecue. You know, the gas station barbecue chain. We hadn’t ever been to a Rudy’s, and after discussing the gloriousness of smoked meats for an hour we were salivating and set on finding one.

Side note: If you tell the Rudy’s employees you’ve never been to a Rudy’s, they will let you sample anything on the menu. I highly recommend sampling everything.

Every time I weigh myself and see that I haven’t lost any weight Dave reminds me that it’s a great success because I ate at all of those restaurants and didn’t gain a pound. My “weigh in” days are on Fridays, and to celebrate the great success of not gaining any weight, I typically reward myself with a taco or a beer or a taco and beer, followed by chips and queso, and then maybe another beer. And after all of that salty food I need something sweet, like peanut M&Ms. Do you see where this is going?

My original goal was to lose five more pounds. My new goal is to practice self control.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * mike says:

    I’ve gained about seven pounds in the last three months.

    I pretty much have to lift weights constantly and then eat until I feel like I’m gonna puke.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  2. * lauren says:

    Bwhaaf. You are so tiny! No need for weight watchers.

    However, I do like the idea of doing weight watchers to counteract all beer and pastry consumption.

    p.s. It takes a lot of control for me to avoid the Starbucks pastry case.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  3. * jen says:

    Rudy’s BBQ is the best; definitely one of my faves.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  4. * Rebekah says:

    Jen – It is so delicious. I wish I’d never gone there, because now I’m going to crave it.

    Update: I work with a lot of boys and lately only with boys. Boys, for some strange reason, do not encourage sampling things from the pastry case. : (

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

